Research Guides: Nursing: Find Websites

Anatomy websites

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
This website has point and read descriptions of all parts of the human body with the movement of each part of the body demonstrated, tutorials on anatomy and physiology and quizzes.
Healthline Body Maps
This site allows visitors to explore the human body in 3D. Embedded links to additional resources complement the interactive models.
Get Body Smart
This website has point and read descriptions of all parts of the human body with the movement of each part of the body demonstrated, tutorials on anatomy and physiology and quizzes.

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
List of drug guides at HCC Library
Click here to access drug guides in I-Share
Drugs @ FDA
Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved innovator and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.
Drugs.com
Drugs.com provides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products. This material is provided for educational purposes only and is not intended for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
PDR Health
From the publishers of the
Physicians’ Desk Reference – the leading drug resource for over 65 years.

Practical Clinical Skills
This website, designed by and for healthcare professionals, has several useful tools and tutorials. On this site you can listen to lung and heart sounds, practice taking blood pressure measurements (using an interactive tool), and review reading EKG/ECG tracings.
National Institute of Nursing Research
This site provides information concerning its own funding initiatives, including diversity programs and resources, links to nursing-related Web sites, and publications from national conferences.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
This is an important site to investigate if you're are interested in quality improvement and tracking--a chief component of evidence-based practice. Published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, it contains articles and research summaries.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC monitors all aspects of public health and works to prevent and control infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities and environmental health threats.
Mayo Clinic
Patient care and health informationMore than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Understandable definitions, videos and tools!
Merck Manual
Merck Manual for the Professional-The best first place to go for medical information
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Information on complementary and alternative medicine, including health, research, training, clinical trials and more.
National Institutes of Health
Publications and fact sheets, news items, grant opportunities, and more are available at this searchable site.
NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.

Data.gov
Repository of open data and statistics from US federal research agencies.
Illinois Department of Public Health - Data and Statistics
These statistics, compiled by the Illinois Department of Health, cover topics like births, deaths, marriages, divorces, infant mortality and more.
National Center for Health Statistics
This website contains searchable statistics from the US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention.
National Center for Health Statistics Faststats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
The NCMHD promotes minority health makes the effort to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities.
State Health Facts Online
You can search for individual state profiles or compare data between states in categories including women's health, medical costs, Medicare, HIV/AIDS and more.