Research Guides: Environmental Technology Resources: Library Research & Resources

Ask A Librarian

Librarians are available to assist with your information and research needs, including help with locating and citing sources.

Contact Us

Librarians are available to assist you during the hours below.

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

We are available to help in the following ways:

You will be answered by a live Heartland Community College librarian when you use these services.

Note: Messages received outside of the hours listed will be answered during the next time librarians are on-call.

Research Appointment

You can also make an appointment to meet one-on-one with a librarian for more in-depth assistance. Schedule an appointment through Navigate. Research appointments can be conducted virtually or in-person on the Normal campus.

Topics in Environmental Technology

What is environmental technology?

What are some topics surrounding environmental technology?

Energy alternatives
Green energy
Wind power
Composting tech
Electric vehicles
Water purification
Air purification
Sewage treatment

Environmental Technology Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad full-text database which includes scholarly articles (many peer-reviewed) and magazine articles, in a wide range of subjects.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
International, U.S. and local newspaper articles, including The Pantagraph.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Full-text business articles, trade & popular magazine articles, 1985 to present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database with full-text research covering human impact to the environment in disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.

Environmental Technology Journals

Carbon Balance and Management
Carbon and environmental sciences. 01/01/2006 to present
Earth System Science Data
Provides coverage of research in Earth system sciences.
07/01/2010 to present
Ecology & Society
Covers the conservation of ecosystems, landscapes, species, populations and genetic diversity, the restoration of ecosystems and habitats, and the management of natural resources.
06/01/2004 to present
Energy Journal
Original, refereed articles and shorter papers devoted to the dissemination of knowledge concerning energy and related topics and book reviews and reviews of topical national and international government reports which assess energy policy and prospects.
01/01/1990 to present
Global Environmental Politics
Covers the relationship between global political forces and environmental change.
02/01/2001 to present (with a 12 Month delay)

HCC Book Resources

I-Share This link opens in a new window
Use the library catalog to search and request books from HCC, along with 86 academic libraries in Illinois.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat when you can't find materials in I-Share. Arrival time varies. Contact the library to renew items. When you log in, make sure to select "WorldCat" to access the search feature and find the books you're looking for.

Environmental Technology Books

Alternative Energy
Call Number: HD9502.U52 S544 2020
ISBN: 9781538116364
Publication Date: 2020
The second edition of Alternative Energy: Political, Economic, and Social Feasibility builds on first edition material, but with significant updates on dramatic changes within the renewable energy sector over the last decade.
The Economics of Clean Energy
Call Number: HD9502.5.C543 U6455 2019
ISBN: 9781534503854
Publication Date: 2018
As of 2017, 69 percent of Americans were in favor of restricting carbon emissions from coal power plants out of concern for climate change and the state of the environment, but can we afford to make the change to cleaner energy sources?
Energy Alternatives
Call Number: TJ808 .E566 2015
ISBN: 9780737772586
Publication Date: 2015
This collection of pro versus con essays examines whether or not alternative energy sources can replace fossil fuels and if the benefits of wind power outweigh its disadvantages.
Good Energy
Call Number: NA2542.3 .G724 2021
ISBN: 9781616899097
Publication Date: 2021
Smart design can make solar, wind, and geothermal energy beautiful, affordable, and accessible to all. Thirty-five projects from around the world demonstrate that clean, healthy energy is within reach in every sector and field.
The Great Transition
Call Number: TJ808 .B756 2015
ISBN: 9780393350555
Publication Date: 2015
As oil insecurity deepens, the extraction risks of fossil fuels rise, and concerns about climate instability cast a shadow over the future of coal, a new world energy economy is emerging.
Wind Turbine Technology and Design
Call Number: TJ828 .R564 2013
ISBN: 9781449624576
Publication Date: 2013
Wind Turbine Technology and Design, part of The Art and Science of Wind Power series, is an essential resource for students looking to build critical skills in the field.