The Heartland Community College Library provides research services and resources remotely. Review sections below to learn about accessing databases and articles, creating citations, and some of the ways librarians can help you with your assignments.
The library website at heartland.edu/library also contains links and information about library services and supports that are available to students, as well as links to access the library catalog and databases.
Please make sure you are logged into your myHeartland account to access online resources.
Books
To search for books, use I-Share, the library's catalog. You can also utilize WorldCat if you are unable to locate your item there. More information about borrowing books can be found under the Borrowing Items tab on the left-hand side menu.
Use WorldCat when you are unable find materials in the I-Share / HCC Library Catalog. Arrival time varies. Contact the library to renew items.
Searchable e-book collection for health science subjects, including medicine, nursing, and allied health.
Streaming Media
The library also offers streaming media databases with access to full length films, short videos, and documentaries. For a full list of all categories of streaming media databases, visit the Research page on the library website.
Comprehensive collection of educational videos, documentaries, and films about a variety of subjects.
Full length movies, documentaries, classic cinema, and independent films from around the world including the Criterion Collection.
Article Databases
The library offers access to databases with full-text academic articles, news articles, and other documents. For a full list of all databases, visit the Research page on the library website.
On the research page of the library website, you can find a list of databases the library has available for research. Resources are categorized into Books & Media and Article Databases.
Databases include access to articles, videos, eBooks, and other materials.
The video below provides information on searching I-Share, the library's online searchable catalog, for academic articles. Other videos on database searching can be found in this playlist.
The library has research guides available to help students learn about library resources and services, learn about information literacy and other special topics, find sources for specific subjects, and learn about finding information for specific Heartland courses.
Visit Heartland Community College Library Research Guides to browse for a research guide or locate one by subject or class.
Librarians are available to assist with your information and research needs, including help with locating and citing sources.
Contact Us
Librarians are available to assist you during the hours below.
We are available to help in the following ways:
You will be answered by a live Heartland Community College librarian when you use these services.
Note: Messages received outside of the hours listed will be answered during the next time librarians are on-call.
Research Appointment
You can also make an appointment to meet one-on-one with a librarian for more in-depth assistance. Schedule an appointment through Navigate. Research appointments can be conducted virtually or in-person on the Normal campus.
NoodleTools is the citation generator available to students. You can create a NoodleTools account to generate citations and export them.
Learn how to use NoodleTools:
If you need more help logging in, check out the FAQ.
Log into your myHeartland account to access online resources.
If you need to reset your password, visit the Manage My Password section of the Heartland website.
