Research Guides: Nursing: Find Articles

Journal articles through PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database has more than 11 million MEDLINE citations and online life science journals with links to SOME full text articles. Articles without full text linked can be requested through interlibrary loan - ask a librarian!

More journals and books

The library also carries these journals and books some which are in print and some which are online:

Nursing

The American Journal of Nursing

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!

Heartland library's databases with full text

Library Databases

CINAHL Plus Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and health topics from scholarly journals and professional nursing publications, as well as quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and images.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Nursing and health articles from scholarly journals and professional nursing publications.
Health Source (Academic) This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and health with a professional/provider audience in mind - more scholarly and research-focused.
Health Source (Consumer) This link opens in a new window
Covers health and nursing topics with a patient/consumer audience in mind - more general publications.

Search Tips

There are two ways to limit your search to nursing journals:

A. Find a specific nursing journal - click Publications to find journals; use 'nursing' as your search term and select 'By Subject & Description.'

B. Search within all journals with "Nursing" as a Subject, or for articles with nurses as author - on the initial search screen, choose "Core Nursing" or "Nursing" from the Journal Subset menu, and either the "First Author is a Nurse" or "Any Author is a Nurse" radio buttons (both are selected here to make them more noticeable).